Cattaraugus County Economic Sustainability and Growth Corporation Organizational Meeting Minutes

April 18, 2018

#### 1. Roll Call

Chairman Martonis called the meeting to order at 3:04pm. The following answered roll call:

Name		Name		Name	
Abers, C.	Aye	Keller, J.	Aye	Padlo, J.	
Labuhn, S.	Aye	Martonis, D.	Aye	Koch, D.	
Vickman, D.	Aye	Snyder, J.		Searles, J.	

Also present: C. Gardner, EPDT

# 2. Reading of Minutes

No minutes recorded from February 2016 meeting

# 3. Committee Reports

None

### 4. Old Business

None

# 5. New Business

# a. Election of 2018 Officers

Following discussion, motion made by Labuhn and seconded by Vickman to elect the following officers of the Corporation:

Martonis, D. Chair Snyder, J. Vice Chair Keller, J. Treasurer Abers, C. Secretary

Motion carried.

Name		Name		Name	
Abers, C.	Aye	Keller, J.	Aye	Padlo, J.	
Labuhn, S.	Aye	Martonis, D.	Aye	Koch, D.	
Vickman, D.	Aye	Snyder, J.		Searles, J.	

## b. Review and Adoption of Policies

CCESGC policies were reviewed in previous Board meetings but had not been formally adopted. Following discussion, the following policies were adopted:

## i. Board Performance Evaluation

Motion made by Vickman and seconded by Labuhn to adopt the Board Performance Evaluation Policy as presented; motion carried.

## Vote results:

Name		Name		Name	
Abers, C.	Aye	Keller, J.	Aye	Padlo, J.	
Labuhn, S.	Aye	Martonis, D.	Aye	Koch, D.	
Vickman, D.	Aye	Snyder, J.		Searles, J.	

#### ii. Code of Ethics

Motion made by Keller and seconded by Abers to adopt the Code of Ethics Policy as presented; motion carried.

#### Vote results:

Name		Name		Name	
Abers, C.	Aye	Keller, J.	Aye	Padlo, J.	
Labuhn, S.	Aye	Martonis, D.	Aye	Koch, D.	
Vickman, D.	Aye	Snyder, J.		Searles, J.	

# iii. Compensation, Reimbursement and Attendance

Motion made by Labuhn and seconded by Keller to adopt the Compensation, Reimbursement and Attendance Policy as presented; motion carried.

## Vote results:

Name		Name		Name	
Abers, C.	Aye	Keller, J.	Aye	Padlo, J.	
Labuhn, S.	Aye	Martonis, D.	Aye	Koch, D.	
Vickman, D.	Aye	Snyder, J.		Searles, J.	

#### iv. Conflict of Interest

Motion made by Abers and seconded by Martonis to adopt the Conflict of Interest Policy as presented; motion carried.

Name		Name		Name	
Abers, C.	Aye	Keller, J.	Aye	Padlo, J.	

Labuhn, S.	Aye	Martonis, D.	Aye	Koch, D.	
Vickman, D.	Aye	Snyder, J.		Searles, J.	

## v. Defense and Indemnification

Motion made by Martonis and seconded by Vickman to adopt the Defense and Indemnification Policy as presented; motion carried.

#### Vote results:

Name		Name		Name	
Abers, C.	Aye	Keller, J.	Aye	Padlo, J.	
Labuhn, S.	Aye	Martonis, D.	Aye	Koch, D.	
Vickman, D.	Aye	Snyder, J.		Searles, J.	

## vi. Prohibiting Extension of Credit to Board Members and Staff

Motion made by Keller and seconded by Labuhn to adopt the Policy Prohibiting Extension of Credit to Board Members and Staff as presented; motion carried.

#### Vote results:

Name		Name		Name	
Abers, C.	Aye	Keller, J.	Aye	Padlo, J.	
Labuhn, S.	Aye	Martonis, D.	Aye	Koch, D.	
Vickman, D.	Aye	Snyder, J.		Searles, J.	

## vii. Whistleblower

Motion made by Vickman and seconded by Martonis to adopt the Whistleblower Policy and Procedure as presented; motion carried.

## Vote results:

Name		Name		Name	
Abers, C.	Aye	Keller, J.	Aye	Padlo, J.	
Labuhn, S.	Aye	Martonis, D.	Aye	Koch, D.	
Vickman, D.	Aye	Snyder, J.		Searles, J.	

# c. Review and Adoption of Guidelines

CCESGC guidelines were reviewed in previous Board meetings but had not been formally adopted. Following discussion, the following guidelines were adopted:

#### i. Investment

Motion made by Keller and seconded by Abers to adopt the Investment Guidelines as presented; motion carried.

Name		Name		Name	
Abers, C.	Aye	Keller, J.	Aye	Padlo, J.	
Labuhn, S.	Aye	Martonis, D.	Aye	Koch, D.	
Vickman, D.	Aye	Snyder, J.		Searles, J.	

#### ii. Procurement

Motion made by Martonis and seconded by Labuhn to adopt the Procurement Guidelines as presented; motion carried.

## Vote results:

Name		Name		Name	
Abers, C.	Aye	Keller, J.	Aye	Padlo, J.	
Labuhn, S.	Aye	Martonis, D.	Aye	Koch, D.	
Vickman, D.	Aye	Snyder, J.		Searles, J.	

## d. Review and adoption of Committee Charters

CCESGC Committees were reviewed in previous Board meetings but had not been formally adopted. Following discussion, the following Committee Charters were adopted, including appointment of Committee members:

## i. Audit Committee

Motion made by Abers and seconded by Vickman to adopt the Audit Committee Charter as presented and appoint the following as Audit Committee members:

Snyder, J.

Searles, J.

Padlo, J.

Motion carried.

### Vote results:

Name		Name		Name	
Abers, C.	Aye	Keller, J.	Aye	Padlo, J.	
Labuhn, S.	Aye	Martonis, D.	Aye	Koch, D.	
Vickman, D.	Aye	Snyder, J.		Searles, J.	

#### ii. Finance Committee

Motion made by Keller and seconded by Martonis to adopt the Finance Committee Charter as presented and appoint the following as Finance Committee members:

Keller, J.

Martonis, D.

Labuhn, S.

Motion carried.

## Vote results:

Name		Name		Name	
Abers, C.	Aye	Keller, J.	Aye	Padlo, J.	
Labuhn, S.	Aye	Martonis, D.	Aye	Koch, D.	
Vickman, D.	Aye	Snyder, J.		Searles, J.	

## iii. Governance Committee

Motion made by Labuhn and seconded by Keller to adopt the Governance Committee Charter as presented and appoint the following as Governance Committee members:

Koch, D.

Abers, C.

Vickman, D.

Motion carried.

#### Vote results:

Name		Name		Name	
Abers, C.	Aye	Keller, J.	Aye	Padlo, J.	
Labuhn, S.	Aye	Martonis, D.	Aye	Koch, D.	
Vickman, D.	Aye	Snyder, J.		Searles, J.	

# e. Development and Adoption of Mission Statement

Board members present discussed necessity of a mission statement for the Corporation as a Public Authority and reviewed several possible statements. After discussion, the following was agreed upon:

"To promote economic growth in Cattaraugus County through the attraction of new business and industry and the retention of existing businesses by providing resources that enable development and advance the wellbeing of the communities."

Motion made by Vickman and seconded by Labuhn to adopt the above statement as the Mission Statement for the CCESGC; motion carried.

Name		Name		Name	
Abers, C.	Aye	Keller, J.	Aye	Padlo, J.	
Labuhn, S.	Aye	Martonis, D.	Aye	Koch, D.	
Vickman, D.	Aye	Snyder, J.		Searles, J.	

#### f. Other Business

Board discussed conducting CCESGC meetings on a quarterly basis going forward.

At the next meeting, Board members request for a breakdown of CCESGC funds, i.e. what portion of total assets held by the Corporation are federalized and de-federalized. Board also requests for the Economic Development department to review what the eligibility criteria are for the current loan funds offered to business owners.

# 6. Adjournment

Motion made by Keller and seconded by Labuhn to adjourn; motion carried.

## Vote results:

Name		Name		Name	
Abers, C.	Aye	Keller, J.	Aye	Padlo, J.	
Labuhn, S.	Aye	Martonis, D.	Aye	Koch, D.	
Vickman, D.	Aye	Snyder, J.		Searles, J.	

Respectfully submitted,

C. Abers, Secretary